Garlic-Chili Chicken

Have I mentioned that Dana Carpender is my favorite low-carb cookbook author?  The problem is now that I’ve gone Paleo a bunch of her recipes don’t work for me anymore.  One of my favorites is Chili-Lime Chicken.  It was sooo tasty, but it also had Splenda and soy sauce.  I also didn’t like grating ginger  huge pain in the rump.  So I paleofied this recipe below.  Note that the original recipe had lime juice, but I didn’t have any.  It actually tastes fine without it so I won’t bother with it any more and have excluded it from this recipe.

Ingredients:

4 chicken leg quarters (from a free range chicken, of course)

1 t powdered ginger

1 T chili-garlic sauce

3 T local honey (Be careful.  So much of what is sold in stores as “honey” is in fact not honey.  Get local and you will be good.)

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1/4 c coconut aminos

Mix all but the chicken up in a bowl.  Put the chicken in a gallon size ziplock.  Let them marinate all day.

When it’s time to cook, pre-heat the oven to 375.  Cook for 45 minutes on a broiler pan.

Here’s what it looked like before it went in to the oven.

That little guy on the back right is mine.  I like it hot!

Here is what it looks like when it’s done.

Notice the missing leg?  Sorry, but I couldn’t wait to eat.  Pictures can wait.  And boy howdy were this good!  I had mine with a side of collard greens from my CSA share this week.

You could still make this if you are on Atkins, as it’s not like you are eating all of the honey.  It’s in the marinade, so most of it stays in the bag.  If you are paranoid about it, you could sub Splenda for the honey.

About wahoowa96

I am a low carb fan and have been for over a year now. Before I discovered this way of eating, I was pre-diabetic, had off the charts cholesterol and high blood pressure. With no meds, all of that stuff is normal now. Thank you so much, Dr. Atkins, for showing me such a wonderful way of eating that is delicious, satisfying and healthy! Even if you don't struggle with your weight, I highly recommend you taking on the low carb way of life. The health benefits to doing so are legion! I have a beautiful wife and two of the most adorable children a dad could ask for.
This entry was posted in Chicken & Poultry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment