Szechuan Beef and Broccoli

This one comes from Carey.  Looks similar to one I have made from George Stella.  If it is anything like it, it is freaking awesome!  Would be good with some caulirice!

2 tblsp sesame oil
1 pound beef sirloin cut in to strips
2 cups fresh broccoli cut into small florets
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp chopped garlic (I used more)
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/8 tsp crushed red pepper or cayenne (I used cayenne)

Heat sesame oil in saute pan or wok over medium high heat until sizzling. Add steak strips and broccoli, and cook without stirring for 1-2 minutes, until they begin to brown. Stir once and and continue to cook another 1-2 minutes.

Add remaining ingredients to pan, stir all to combine and cook for 1-2 more minutes, or until broccoli is as tender as you like it.

4 servings. 290 calories, 14 g fat, 36 g protein, 1 g fiber, 2.5 NC.

With the Sugar Snap Pea Stir Fry veggie mix, it was 6.05 n/c’s.

About wahoowa96

I am a low carb fan and have been for over a year now. Before I discovered this way of eating, I was pre-diabetic, had off the charts cholesterol and high blood pressure. With no meds, all of that stuff is normal now. Thank you so much, Dr. Atkins, for showing me such a wonderful way of eating that is delicious, satisfying and healthy! Even if you don't struggle with your weight, I highly recommend you taking on the low carb way of life. The health benefits to doing so are legion! I have a beautiful wife and two of the most adorable children a dad could ask for.
This entry was posted in Beef. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Szechuan Beef and Broccoli

  1. Dave says:

    Tried this recipe tonight. Great flavor. The whole house smells like sesame seed oil. Wife thought the crushed red pepper gave too much heat, but I didn’t taste the heat at all…go figure.

Leave a comment