Yellow Curry Beef

What I am about to put before you isn’t really a recipe.  Rather, it is an illustration of just how easy it is to eat Paleo or low carb.  Well, it may be a little more tedious for you if you are a low carber because you will have to figure out all the carb counts in anything you make, but the concept is the same.  You don’t need any kind of fancy recipe.  All you need is this formula.  Meat+Veg+Fat+Seasoning=Yummy Dinner.  Or M+V+F+S=YD. You get my drift.

So dinner time came around tonight and I did a little foraging in my kitchen. I had a pound of grass fed ground beef.  Meat….check.  I had some squash, cherry tomatoes, garlic,cabbage and onion from my farmer’s market.  Veg…check.  I have olive oil and like a hundred cans of coconut milk because I am preparing for the zombie apocalypse.  Fat…check.  I had some fresh basil growing out back, some yellow curry powder and and some salt and pepper.  Seasoning…check.  All I had to do was combine it all to make a yummy dinner.  So I browned the beef with some chopped up basil.  While that little party was happening, I sliced the cabbage (1/2 head normal cabbage and a whole head small red cabbage), diced a whole onion, minced 5 cloves of garlic and sliced up one large summer squash.  When the meat was brown, I removed it to a bowl.  In the same pan, I heated up some olive oil and threw in the cabbage, onion and garlic.  Seasoned it with copious amounts of salt and pepper and let it wilt a bit.  Then I threw in a handful of the tomatoes and the squash and let that simmer a bit.  While that was happening, I poured a whole can of coconut milk in to a bowl and mixed in 1 T yellow curry powder.  When that was all mixed up, I added the ground beef back to the pan and poured the coconut magic all over the ingredients.  Cover the pan, lower the heat and let it go, checking and stirring every 5 minutes.  When the squash is tender enough for your liking, its time to eat like a rock star!

Sorry I don’t have pictures.  I really didn’t intend to blog about this, but the thought occurred to me that so many people complain that Paleo or low carb takes too much effort.  This took like 30 minutes all together.  Seriously.  In Waco you can’t hardly get a seat in a restaurant in under thirty minutes, so don’t tell me you have to spend too much time in the kitchen to eat healthy.  Oh yeah…the grass fed beef might run $5.50 a pound, but when you consider I just fed my entire family for less than $10 bucks AND it was super tasty AND it was super easy, it really wasn’t a bad deal after all!  So get creative in your kitchen and don’t stress too much about recipes.  Just remember the formula.  M+V+F+S=YD.

About wahoowa96

I am a low carb fan and have been for over a year now. Before I discovered this way of eating, I was pre-diabetic, had off the charts cholesterol and high blood pressure. With no meds, all of that stuff is normal now. Thank you so much, Dr. Atkins, for showing me such a wonderful way of eating that is delicious, satisfying and healthy! Even if you don't struggle with your weight, I highly recommend you taking on the low carb way of life. The health benefits to doing so are legion! I have a beautiful wife and two of the most adorable children a dad could ask for.
This entry was posted in Beef, Random Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Yellow Curry Beef

  1. Dave says:

    I just made this recipe and it was awesome! Great flavor! But, I had some changes that I made.

    3/4 Head of Green Cabbage
    1/2 Head of Red Cabbage
    16 oz. coconut milk
    2 T of Red Curry Powder
    2 lbs of ground beef

    Same procedure as above, but be warned, this makes a TON of food. I used a wok to cook it all and there was barely enough space to mix everything together.

    Thanks for the great recipe!
    Dave

Leave a comment