Low Carb Cruise

It has been kind of a tough week for me, blog reader wise, because all of my favorite bloggers are on a low carb cruise.  I really want to go on that cruise one year, but alas, they do it in May when my kids are still in school.  Bummer.

Every other year or so, however, my family goes on a cruise.  In the past it has been a 4 day cruise from Galveston to Mexico and back.  One port of call.  The last go ’round was during my first year of being on Atkins.  Surprisingly, I was a pretty good boy for the first half.  But that damned chocolate molten cake stared at me at dinner every night. On day three, the bastard got the best of me.  That set in motion an avalanche of bad behavior.  All of a sudden all kinds of gluten and sugar laden stuff went down my pie whole.  This in spite of how bloated I felt.  Ugh.  Why can’t I just enjoy the cake, take in the flavor but also witness the bloating that comes with it and just say no the rest of the cruise?

Recently I read this article about a study that most people thought they put on more weight on a two week cruise than they do during Christmas.  Crickey!  The results showed that most people put on a pound a day during a two week cruise, coming back a stone heavier than when they left.  I have no idea how much a stone is, but it sounds like a lot.  I assume it’s 14 lbs if I did my math correctly.  I wonder if it actually not much more.  I put on 7 pounds just in the two days of eating like crack addict at an all you can smoke buffet. Of course a bunch of that was water, so maybe if I kept it up, it would have averaged out to a pound a day.  Who knows.  It is even so bad, they article says, that many boats now have tailors on board to let out the waist line as people get bigger on the boat.  Sheesh!

This year will be a much bigger challenge, as it is going to be a 7 day cruise.  I am super excited about it.  Don’t get me wrong.  But I have to have a better plan.  One thing that will be different is that I am now living a paleo lifestyle which opens up a wider array of food for me to eat.  The thing about a cruise is that you don’t HAVE to eat like crap.  There is such a wide variety all day long.  They have some wonderful fresh fruit and veggies.  All day salad bars and plenty o meat.  I think one thing I will do this year is take pictures of every meal.  And then post them here when I return.  Knowing that I will have to be accountable to you, my dear readers, will hopefully keep me away from all that toxic goodness.  Well…..I may have one serving of chocolate molten cake.  Who knows.  What do you think?  To cake or not to cake?

About wahoowa96

I am a low carb fan and have been for over a year now. Before I discovered this way of eating, I was pre-diabetic, had off the charts cholesterol and high blood pressure. With no meds, all of that stuff is normal now. Thank you so much, Dr. Atkins, for showing me such a wonderful way of eating that is delicious, satisfying and healthy! Even if you don't struggle with your weight, I highly recommend you taking on the low carb way of life. The health benefits to doing so are legion! I have a beautiful wife and two of the most adorable children a dad could ask for.
This entry was posted in News and Info, Random Musings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Low Carb Cruise

  1. The photo accountability project sounds like a great idea. If I did the same, then perhaps I’d stop nibbling Chex Mix in the evening and get my head back in the game. It frustrates me (after the fact, of course) when I give in to the call of carbs. :/

    • wahoowa96 says:

      If Chex Mix is a huge temptation for you now, I would suggest throwing it and all other temptations out of the house and not replacing it. When I started, I did a clean sweep through my freezer and pantry. That helped. Good luck with your journey!

  2. Pingback: Cavelady Cooking – Recipes for Paleo Diet, Low-Carb Diet and ...

Leave a Reply

