Sausage Balls

Well, it’s Christmas season again, and nothing says Christmas food like sausage balls.  So I’ve come up with a real doozie.  Just because you are living a healthy low carb life doesn’t mean you have to forego all of the wonderful comfort foods that you associate with this time of year.  In fact, I made these for an ugly Christmas sweater party and the comment that I received was these are WAY better than what my mom used to make.  Now when a Texas guy says something is better than what his mamma made that is saying a lot.

2 cups grated Cracker Barrel Extra Sharp White Cheddar Cheese

1 lb breakfast sausage (the kind that comes in the tube)

2 large eggs

2 tblsp coconut flour

1 teaspoon salt

4 pinches salt

Preheat oven to 425.  While the oven is heating, mix all of the above goodness up.  Form the mixture in to small balls (about an inch in diameter) and place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  This goes a whole lot easier if you wet your hands first.  The mixture will tend to stick to your hands otherwise.  Once you’ve filled your sheet with balls (*snicker*  sorry, but sometimes I have the mind of a 12 year old boy) and the oven is up to temperature, slide those puppies in for 20-25 minutes.  Watch them closely starting at 15 minutes to make sure you don’t burn them.  This will have to go in batches.  My experience was that one batch couldn’t even last until the next batch came out the oven.  People just devoured them.

About wahoowa96

I am a low carb fan and have been for over a year now. Before I discovered this way of eating, I was pre-diabetic, had off the charts cholesterol and high blood pressure. With no meds, all of that stuff is normal now. Thank you so much, Dr. Atkins, for showing me such a wonderful way of eating that is delicious, satisfying and healthy! Even if you don't struggle with your weight, I highly recommend you taking on the low carb way of life. The health benefits to doing so are legion! I have a beautiful wife and two of the most adorable children a dad could ask for.
This entry was posted in Pork, Snacks and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sausage Balls

  1. Kristi says:

    Coconut flour?? Never seen that but my mouth is freakin watering right now. Looooove sausage balls!!

  2. Frugal Jen says:

    Hi! I found you through Jimmy Moore’s site. (Gotta love that link love, yes? 🙂 ) These look delicious! Any idea whether flax meal would work instead of coconut flour?

    • wahoowa96 says:

      You know, I think it would. If I were to use flax, I would make sure to use golden flax, as it has a more neutral flavor. You may need to use more, too. Coconut flour is really thirsty, so you don’t need to use as much. It really soaks up the liquids and bulks things up.

  3. Frugal Jen says:

    Thanks for that about the using more flax than coconut. I’ll definitely be trying it out!

Leave a Reply

