Drunken Chicken Wings

These are hands down some of the best wings I have ever had.  No sauce needed.  The marinade is so awesome.  I gotta say that I was concerned that the whiskey would be overbearing, but you really couldn’t taste it at all.  Just a note….those potatoes weren’t for me.  Those were for the carbopheliacs in my group.  Hat tip Evan Williams for attaching the recipe to the bottle.  Just a few tweaks and it is low carb friendly!

2 lbs chicken wings

1/2 cup Dijon mustard

6 T bourbon whiskey

1/4 cup soy sauce

1/4 cup granulated Splenda

2 t blackstrap molasses

2 t worcestershire sauce

1/3 cup minced onion

Mix all the ingredients in a bowl, add the chicken wings, cover and let sit for 4-24 hours..  Grill for 20-25 minuets, turning halfway through.  Can’t wait to eat these tonight!

About wahoowa96

I am a low carb fan and have been for over a year now. Before I discovered this way of eating, I was pre-diabetic, had off the charts cholesterol and high blood pressure. With no meds, all of that stuff is normal now. Thank you so much, Dr. Atkins, for showing me such a wonderful way of eating that is delicious, satisfying and healthy! Even if you don't struggle with your weight, I highly recommend you taking on the low carb way of life. The health benefits to doing so are legion! I have a beautiful wife and two of the most adorable children a dad could ask for.
This entry was posted in Chicken & Poultry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Drunken Chicken Wings

  1. LCDC says:

    This was excellent – we’ll be having this again for sure – thank you!

    • wahoowa96 says:

      Glad you liked them! They are one of my faves!. Now that I am Paleo, they will have to be on a cheat day, as I avoid gluten and my dear whiskey has gluten in it. 😦

  2. LCDC says:

    Hmmm. There is a debate regarding whether alcohols made from grains are offlimits to those avoiding gluten (the FDA thinks they are ok, but many celiacs don’t). I was thinking you could substitute brandy instead – Calvados, an apple brandy, or Slivovitz, a plum brandy, would be perfect for this application.

    • wahoowa96 says:

      I am so glad you left this comment. Since going Paleo, I have not made these because of that as well as the artificial sweetener. I will try brandy as a substitute and will likely use honey in place of the splenda. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

