Low Carb Pizza Crust

I used to think that the thin crust pizza on Linda’s website was the best thing since sliced, um, you know what I mean.  Anyway, I’ve been on a coconut flour kick as of late so in cruising the interwebs for a good pizza crust recipe, one in particular kept coming up.  Since it was on several sites, I don’t know who to credit with my base idea, but I think I’ve improved on it significantly.  Most if not all called for flax meal as well, but I don’t think it is necessary.  So I cut that.  Also, coconut flour can lend a slight coconutty flavor to the things you make with it, so I added some Italian seasoning and garlic powder to avoid that.  I don’t think coconut flavored pizza would suit my tastes.  This is hands down my favorite pizza crust now!  What makes it better than the one on Linda’s site is that you can actually pick this up.  It isn’t floppy like the other one.  Don’t get me wrong, that recipe is still freaking awesome, so if you can’t get coconut flour I do still recommend it.  But if you DO have access to some coconut flour, you really should make this for yourself this weekend!

2 cups mozzarella cheese

2 large eggs

2 tablespoons coconut flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon Italian Seasoning

Preheat oven to 350.  While its warming up, mix all the dry ingredients together.  Then add the two eggs and mix by hand until you have a sticky dough.  Make four even sized balls out of the dough and spread them each 1/4 inch thick on a large pizza pan or cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Once the oven is ready, slide the pan in to the oven.  after fifteen minutes of cooking, flip each personal pizza crust with a spatula.  Let it go in the oven for 10 more minutes.  Et voila!  You have some personal size pizza that you can top with your favorite toppings.  If you are going to have some veggies on it, it is best to sautee them in some coconut oil and butter.  You could just use butter, but butter tends to burn really easily.  You could also use olive oil, but I really like the health benefits of extra virgin coconut oil.  I added butter to the mix to kill the slight coconut flavor of the oil.

Finally, you could make this in to one big pie, but the flipping part would be harder.  You would want to take your pan out of the oven, put some more parchment paper on top of the pizza, place another pan on top of that, and flip.

About wahoowa96

I am a low carb fan and have been for over a year now. Before I discovered this way of eating, I was pre-diabetic, had off the charts cholesterol and high blood pressure. With no meds, all of that stuff is normal now. Thank you so much, Dr. Atkins, for showing me such a wonderful way of eating that is delicious, satisfying and healthy! Even if you don't struggle with your weight, I highly recommend you taking on the low carb way of life. The health benefits to doing so are legion! I have a beautiful wife and two of the most adorable children a dad could ask for.
This entry was posted in Pizza and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Low Carb Pizza Crust

  1. Kristi says:

    Have you seen the cauliflower pizza crust? I’m gonna try it this week.

  2. Lu Ann says:

    You are my new best friend!! My husband has been complaining that he misses pizza, so I decided to try this out for Valentine’s Day dinner. He said “this is really good!” He very rarely says that about anything! Thanks so much for the recipe. I hoped that since a guy posted it, my husband would like it and I was right!
    jandlsmom

    • wahoowa96 says:

      Lu Ann, I’m so glad you and he liked it. I just had it on Sunday. It is nice that you don’t have to be deprived just because you choose a healthy way of life.

  3. marcella says:

    1 pk. cream cheese (room temp), 1 beaten egg, 1/4 cp. parmesan cheese & 1/2-1 tbs. parsley In a medium size bowl add cream cheese, beaten egg, parmesan cheese & parsley mix well. In a ligtly greased 9 inch round pan spread the mixture into pan & up the sides, bake 15 minutes. Cool 10 minutes & add pizza sauce (look @ labels), toppings & cheese & sprinkle a little parsley on top, bake 15-20 minutes. Serves 2-3

Leave a Reply

