Coconut Flour Waffles

I have been reading Wheat Belly. I have learned so much about how wheat is so damaging in so many different ways to your body. So I’ve made the decision to go grain free. That being said, I can no longer use my carb quick. Just because it’s low carb doesn’t mean it is good for you. The gluten is still there to wreak havoc on your system. So recently I got some coconut flour. One huge benefit to coconut flour is that its so high in fiber good for your gut and really filling too. This morning I whipped up some waffles and OMG were they good! Sorry I don’t have a picture. I got too excited to eat them I forgot to take a pic.

1/4 cup coconut flour
1/2 t baking powder
1/2 t salt
1/2 dropper of liquid stevia
4 eggs beaten
4 T melted butter
4 T heavy cream

In one bowl, mix the flour and baking powder. In another bowl mix the remaining ingredients. Add the dry to the wet and mix up. I had to thin mine with some water, as it was too thick. Slap it in your favorite waffle maker and enjoy with your favorite sugar free syrup (I use sf Mrs Butterworth’s)

4 servings

Calories 268

Total Fat 23.8g
Saturated Fat 13.524g
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.428g
Monounsaturated Fat 6.787g
Cholesterol 296mg
Sodium 104mg
Potassium 92mg
Total Carbohydrate 4.87g
Dietary Fiber 2.5g
Sugars 0.97g
Protein 8.72g

About wahoowa96

I am a low carb fan and have been for over a year now. Before I discovered this way of eating, I was pre-diabetic, had off the charts cholesterol and high blood pressure. With no meds, all of that stuff is normal now. Thank you so much, Dr. Atkins, for showing me such a wonderful way of eating that is delicious, satisfying and healthy! Even if you don't struggle with your weight, I highly recommend you taking on the low carb way of life. The health benefits to doing so are legion! I have a beautiful wife and two of the most adorable children a dad could ask for.
This entry was posted in Breakfast and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

