Chicken with Creamy Mexican Gravy

This is one my mom ran across. She made it for me the other day. I would say it’s so good it made me want to slap my mamma, but since she cooked, that would be kind of rude!

4 chicken breasts cut in to tenders
1 stick unsalted butter plus 2 T
2 T olive oil
4 oz onion, chopped
2 4.5 oz cans of green chilis
16 oz sour cream
A little chicken broth if you want to thin the gravy
4 oz shredded cheddar
Salt, pepper and garlic powder

Season the chicken with salt pepper and garlic powder and brown it in 2 T butter and olive oil (do not cook through, just brown. Meanwhile, sweat the onions in the stick of butter. Then throw in the chilis to heat them up. Remove from heat and stir in the sour cream. Blend the gravy mixture in your food processor or blender until smooth. Layer half the chicken, half the gravy and half the cheese in that order in a greased 9×13-ish casserole. Repeat layers one more time. Cover and bake at 350 for an hour.

Makes 4 servings. The carb counts look worse than they really are because you are not gonna eat all the gravy. I might play with halving the gravy to get lower carb counts. I also thought this mY work in a slow cooker, but I don’t have any experience cooking sour cream stuff in a slow cooker. If you try it, let me know how it turns out!

Info/serving
Calories 806

Total Fat 53.22g
Saturated Fat 26.276g
Polyunsaturated Fat 4.332g
Monounsaturated Fat 13.51
Cholesterol 250mg
Sodium 1265mg
Potassium 753mg
Total Carbohydrate 11.64g
Dietary Fiber 1.5g
Sugars 1.4g
Protein 69.25g

About wahoowa96

I am a low carb fan and have been for over a year now. Before I discovered this way of eating, I was pre-diabetic, had off the charts cholesterol and high blood pressure. With no meds, all of that stuff is normal now. Thank you so much, Dr. Atkins, for showing me such a wonderful way of eating that is delicious, satisfying and healthy! Even if you don't struggle with your weight, I highly recommend you taking on the low carb way of life. The health benefits to doing so are legion! I have a beautiful wife and two of the most adorable children a dad could ask for.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

