Mama J’s Broccoli Salad

I was making a broccoli salad recipe that my cousin, Stacey, gave me to take to my dad’s house for father’s day, when I realized her’s was similar to our Mama J’s.  I pulled out a recipe card that I had from her, tweaked it to be low carb, and viola!  The results are below.  Let me tell you, this stuff is awesome! Hoo said low carb isn’t sustainable?  LOL!

  • 1 C. Mayo
  • 1/2 C. granulated Splenda
  • 2 T red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 C. shredded cheddar
  • 1/4 cup hulled sunflower seeds
  • 8 thin slices bacon fried crisp and broken to bits
  • 87 g red onion
  • 560 g broccoli
Mix everything except for the sunflower seeds together in a bowl with a lid.  Put in the fridge until chow time.  Just before serving, add in the sunflower seeds (this is so they don’t get soggy).  Enjoy the memories of my grandmother…the greatest woman I ever knew.
Nutritional info (per fatsecret.com):
10 Servings
Calories 250
% Daily Values*
Total Fat 24.48g 38%
Saturated Fat 4.141g 21%
Polyunsaturated Fat 1.269g
Monounsaturated Fat 1.053g
Cholesterol 26mg 9%
Sodium 280mg 12%
Potassium 227mg
Total Carbohydrate 6.82g 2%
Dietary Fiber 1.9g 8%
Sugars 1.41g
Protein 5.16g
About wahoowa96

I am a low carb fan and have been for over a year now. Before I discovered this way of eating, I was pre-diabetic, had off the charts cholesterol and high blood pressure. With no meds, all of that stuff is normal now. Thank you so much, Dr. Atkins, for showing me such a wonderful way of eating that is delicious, satisfying and healthy! Even if you don't struggle with your weight, I highly recommend you taking on the low carb way of life. The health benefits to doing so are legion! I have a beautiful wife and two of the most adorable children a dad could ask for.
This entry was posted in Sides and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mama J’s Broccoli Salad

  1. Kathy Smith says:

    Sounds great! I’m going to the grocery tomorrow morning and I’ll make sure I’ve got everything for this one!!

  2. cigarettesandmeltedchocolate says:

    Looks good!

Leave a Reply

