Carey’s Cheesy Chili Bake

Picture courtesy of Izzy

As I said to Carey when she told me about this recipe, how can you go wrong with cheese and chili?  I think they may be their own food groups along with bacon.  Hmmm.  There’s an idea.  What if you added bacon to this dish?  Think I will have to give it a go!

I haven’t entered the ingredients in to fat secret so I have no idea what the net carb count is, but looking at the ingredients, I would bet it is six or less.

***Update***

Carey just sent me the servings and NC count.  6 servings at 6.27 NC per serving.  Damn I’m good!  LOL.

Ingredients

  • 2 servings McCormick Original Chili Seasoning mix
  • 4 servings crushed red pepper
  • 1 cup tomato puree
  • 2 lb’s hamburger
  • 3 cups shredded cheddar
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped or diced green chili peppers
  • 1 cup water

Directions

  1. Brown ground beef with onions. Drain. Add in seasoning mix, crushed red pepper, green chili peppers, tomato puree, and water. Let simmer about 15 minutes. Put in casserole dish, sprinkle cheese on top and bake at 400 degrees F. until cheese melts.

About wahoowa96

I am a low carb fan and have been for over a year now. Before I discovered this way of eating, I was pre-diabetic, had off the charts cholesterol and high blood pressure. With no meds, all of that stuff is normal now. Thank you so much, Dr. Atkins, for showing me such a wonderful way of eating that is delicious, satisfying and healthy! Even if you don't struggle with your weight, I highly recommend you taking on the low carb way of life. The health benefits to doing so are legion! I have a beautiful wife and two of the most adorable children a dad could ask for.
This entry was posted in Beef and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Carey’s Cheesy Chili Bake

  1. Carey says:

    I found this dish delicious, and when I entered into fatsecret came up with 6.27 n/c’s per serving. I calculated at 6 servings per casserole. Also, some suggestions for sides, lettuce, and sour cream.

  2. Carey says:

    Clarification on the recipe…..

    2 Servings of the chili seasoning = 1/2 pkg, or 2 X 1 1/3 T
    4 Servings crushed red pepper = 1 t

    Hope this helps. 🙂

Leave a comment