Walnut Coffee Cake

From Soco on the recipe forum at Atkins.com

 

Bake at 350 for 25 minutes

 

This is from a recipe by Jennifer Paterson and Clarissa Dickson Wright or better known as the “Two fat ladies”

I used to love watching their shows when they were on Food Network, I made this today and made a few changes in order to lower the carb count,and this is the best coffee cake I have ever had !

 

( Cake Batter )

4 large eggs ( separated)

3 tablespoons instant coffee

3/4 cup splenda

1 cup roughly chopped walnuts

1/2 Teaspoon baking powder

 

( Icing )

1/2 stick softened butter

3/4 cup splenda

3 tablespoons instant coffee

2 tablespoons heavy cream

 

For batter:

Beat egg whites until stiff,set aside

Beat egg yolks with 3/4 cup splenda,add 3 tablespoons instant coffee,walnuts,and baking powder,fold egg whites in,mix well and pour into 8 inch cake pan with the bottom lined in parchment paper and sprayed and spray pan with nonstick spray,bake for 25 minutes and cool.

 

( Icing)

Beat softened butter,3/4 cup splenda and 3 tablespoons instant coffee and 2 tablespoons cream,mix well and spread over cooled cake.

I slice it into 8 servings. The original recipe also included 1 tablespoon cocoa powder, in the batter,I left it out as I didn’t have any in the house today.

 

About wahoowa96

I am a low carb fan and have been for over a year now. Before I discovered this way of eating, I was pre-diabetic, had off the charts cholesterol and high blood pressure. With no meds, all of that stuff is normal now. Thank you so much, Dr. Atkins, for showing me such a wonderful way of eating that is delicious, satisfying and healthy! Even if you don't struggle with your weight, I highly recommend you taking on the low carb way of life. The health benefits to doing so are legion! I have a beautiful wife and two of the most adorable children a dad could ask for.
This entry was posted in Desserts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

